2011 Victorian Christmas Mansion & Church Tours
309 Grampian Blvd • The Huffman/Walter House • Theme: Children’s Fashions and Toys
This is a remarkable “turn of the century” house with stunning architectural details: wraparound porch, elegant columns, leaded glass windows, coffered ceilings, pocket doors and prom staircase. A Grampian treasure, with a third floor bedroom that is a child’s dream.
Owners: Scott and Erica Walter • Chair: The Junior League of Williamsport Inc. – Laurie Ade Florist: Special Occasions Florals- Karen Ruhl, Michelle Ronneberg • Sponsor: Eagle Rock Winery
525 West Fourth Street • The DuBois House • Theme: Unmentionables and Accessories
A distinctive Italianate style Victorian home, defined by stucco walls with coinstone corners, large protruding eaves, heavy cornices decorated with double corbels, and wonderful curved arches above each window. The windows themselves retain the original curved mullions separating each window into decorative panes. This house was built between 1865 and 1875, which was the peak of Italianate Villa architecture.
Owner: Elizabeth Miele • Chair: Elizabeth Miele • Florist: Special Occasion Florals- Karen Ruhl, Michelle Ronneberg • Sponsor: City of Williamsport
707 West Fourth Street • The Rowley House Museum • Theme: Mourning/Grieving Wear
From an originality standpoint and condition, this circa 1888 home is one of the most significant Queen Anne Victorian Houses in Pennsylvania. During the tour, Mr. Kane will present a slide presentation in the Nassberg Media Room on architecturally-significant homes in the Williamsport area.
Owner: Preservation Williamsport • Chair: Robert Kane, Rowley House Curator Florist: Strawberry Basket, eliz Snyder • Sponsor: Penn Square Apts.
711 West Fourth Street • The Elias Deemer House • Theme: Travel Wear
This home and accompanying carriage house, built in 1887 by architect Eber Culver, is an outstanding example of Queen Anne craftsmanship, especially the cherry wainscoting in the foyer and front hall as well as three floors of cherry stairway railings. The house has undergone considerable restoration, most recently the exterior and dining room. Featured in the carriage house is a 1929 Packard limousine.
Owner: Daniel H. Llewellyn and Dr. Susan G. S. Anderson • Chair: Ruthanne Crotty Florist: Janet’s Floral Creations • Sponsor: Impact Advertising
821 Hawthorne Ave • “Lindenhouse” • Theme: Evening Attire
This charming 1937 home was designed as a Pennsylvania farmhouse by renowned architect, R. Brognard Okie. The façade is primarily undressed field stone and mortar in the English tradition. Throughout the home, one sees magnificent cherry wood trim and planked pine flooring. The multiple dormers, blind window shutters and shingle style roof help to capture the English country feel of this home.
Owner: Dina Wilson • Chair: Dina Wilson, Sue Tucker • Florist: Nevill’s Flowers • Sponsor: 3D Glass
858 West Fourth Street • Thomas Taber Museum Lycoming County Historical Society
Visitors to the Lycoming County Historical Society will be enchanted with a display of late 19th – early 20th century dolls, miniature furniture and selected toys. The exhibit will feature the doll collection of Margaret Myers Lamade (Mrs. Dietrick Wilson), donated to the museum in 1993. Guests may also stroll through the fine arts gallery, which features works by Severin Roesen, J. Wesley Little, and John Sloan. They will be swept back in time by viewing the recreated frontier room, the Greek Revival Parlor, and the Ralston General Store. Also, visitors may explore the dynamic history of the region’s American Indian culture, the military heritage of the county and the logging and lumbering industry of the 19th century. And what a visit to the LCHS would be complete without viewing the LaRue Shempp Toy Train Collection.
1200 Campbell Street • The Harris Home • Theme: Day Wear
This beautiful New England Colonial frame house built in 1924 by architect Carl Tallman, features a traditional center hall plan with gum paneling in the living room and exquisite paneling in the dining room. Stained glass windows adorn the center staircase with views of the newly landscaped patio and gardens.
Owner: Gordon Harris and Dr. Nathalie Lavallee-Harris • Chair: Nicole Nardi Florist: Nevill’s Flowers • Sponsor: Franie and Doug Dougherty
1401 Campbell Street • Smith/DiSalvo House • Theme: Beach and Recreation Wear
This is a classic 1920’s Art Deco house. It is defined by period-appropriate brass entry doors, stucco exterior walls and an exposed brick foundation. The overall boxy style accented with curved corners, curved balcony, and tall narrow windows all add to the Deco period feel of this home.
Owner: Tony DiSalvo III • Chair: The DiSalvo family and Pat Camille Florist: Mystic Gardens Floral Studio • Sponsor: Albarano Construction
1414 Wynwood Lane • “Casabella” • Theme: Wedding Attire
Built in 1997, this spectacular house reflects the Italian Villa style with a sprawling country club like setting. The dining room boasts a hand painted mural, depicting Christ with five children, by artist Marguerite Bierman. African mahogany floors, cherry and mahogany carved fireplaces and a circular floating staircase are a few of the many unique characteristics. Additionally this home will feature some of the finest artisans showcasing their work which will be available for purchase.
Owner: Matthew and Yvonne DiRocco • Chair: Amy Dowling and Yvonne DiRocco Florist: Strawberry Basket, eliz Snyder • Sponsor- Airmen Heating and Air Conditioning
380 West Fourth Street • First Baptist Church
This landmark church was originally designed and built by Eber Culver in 1854. It has been served by 21 pastors and six interim pastors in three different buildings all on the same corner of ground donated by Peter Herdic. Peter’s wife was a member of the congregation. After being destroyed by floods, the original building was torn down in 1889. The main sanctuary was completed in 1914. The church is an example of the Romanesque style of architecture, with mountain stone quarried from this area. The present church is known for its beautiful sanctuary with the eight stained glass windows depicting Baptist patriarchs. The jewel of all the windows faces West Fourth Street and depicts the baptism of Jesus. Designed in London and built in New York City by Young and Bonawitz in 1914, the windows were taken apart to be transported to Williamsport.
700 West Fourth Street • Annunciation Church
Built in 1886 by Amos Wagner on land donated by Peter Herdic, the church was built to service the Irish Catholic community. It is an example of the Romanesque style of architecture, and the sandstone came from the nearby Ralston Quarry. The church has a multi-gabled slate roof and walls with colored belt courses. There are 43 arched stained glass windows. The entryway and entry doors are semi-circular. The bell tower is open with a decorative cornice and patterned stone. The center tower was capped when three workers fell to their deaths during construction. The interior has marble altars and Tiffany windows, including “The Accession of Christ” behind the main altar installed in the early 1900s. Note the use of marble and gold. The church seats 1,000 people.
844 West Fourth Street • Trinity Episcopal Church
Built in 1875 by Culver and Thorn, the church was paid for by Peter Herdic, who donated not only the land but also the entire building to Trinity Parish for one dollar as long as the pews remain “forever free.” His father-in-law, Judge Maynard, presented the church with the first set of nine-bell Westminster chimes in America, the same as heard in the Big Ben Tower of London. An example of English Gothic architecture, the church is built with stone quarried from Bald Eagle Mountain at Muncy and brownstone from Hummelstown. Note the pointed arches and windows, steeply pitched colored slate roof, and 265-foot spire. In an 1876 issue of the Parish Dial, the following passage appears concerning the church’s windows: “Words cannot paint the loveliness of these windows. The makers, Aickin and Isaac, Philadelphia, have conscientiously adhered to the true idea of glass staining, which does not consist in painting the various colors upon large sheets of glass, but in leading together separate pieces so as to present a transparent mosaic. The side windows show exquisite geometrical designs.