2007 Victorian Christmas Mansion and Churches Tour
Cipolla House • 428 W. Edwin, Williamsport PA • (formerly Miele -Wood) Anthony Cipolla – Current Owner
Circa 1890’s Victorian Façade with contemporary adaptations, handsome woodwork handcrafted by James Wood Company. Mahogany bath tub on 3rd floor. Enhancing sky lights. Classic Queen Anne with steep gables. Many exterior ornamental features – turned posts, fretworks, Decorative shingles.
Kieser House • 713 Hepburn Street, Williamsport, PA
Large classic Queen Anne Victorian with large gables and a predominate tower. The house is built of brick with shingle decoration. The design of this house shows subtle Richardsonian Romanesque details into its overall façade. Interior oak and mahogany paneling packet doors and brick fireplaces with wooden surrounds.
LeVan House • 878 West Fourth Street, Williamsport PA • Timothy Levan Owner
Circa 1865 Built by Peter Herdic and sold to his accountant. Mr. LeVan is the 3rd owner. Second Empire style, deep cove moldings and center medallions in the interior Stylish double front doors with etched glass classic 2nd empire window cornices above each window. Original stucco. This styles hallmark is the flat roof with decorative slate roof sides with built in dormers.
Stroehman House • 711 Vallamont Drive, Williamsport PA • David Stroehman Owner
The Stroehmann Family residence owners. Spectacular brick house with tower in the French Norman influence. The house was designed by the well known Architect, Carl Tallman in the late 1920’s. The exterior of the house is completely original and in excellent condition. The inter features handsome fireplaces, butler’s pantry, fish pond and intriguing tower steps.
Thomas Taber Museum • 858 West 4th Street (Centennial Exhibit 100 Years), Williamsport PA
Immerse yourself in local history at this intriguing museum, which charts the region’s past through exhibits and memorabilia. From frontier days to the booming era of the Lumber Barons, the museum highlights Williamsport ‘s fortunes and vagaries. Hundreds of model trains also find their share of fans; some even make their way about the facility. Additional displays showcase 19th-century paintings, various town buildings, and period furnishings.
Peter Herdic Transportation Museum • 810 Nichols Place, Williamsport PA
The Susquehanna River provided the means for Lycoming County ‘s explosive growth at the turn of the century. Come visit the Peter Herdic Transportation Museum and explore the rich traditions of the Susquehanna Valley from the time of the Susquehannock Indian Tribe to today’s modern transportation systems. From the birch bark canoe to a fully restored GMC 1962 bus, it’s an interesting tour back in time. PETER HERDIC TRANSPORTATION is behind Trinity Episcopal Church.
Annunciation Catholic Church • 700 W. Fourth Street, Williamsport PA
Built 1886, Amos Wagner architect. The church has a multi-gabled slate roof and stonewalls with colored belt courses. There are forty-three arched stained glass windows. The entryway and entry doors are semi-circular. The bell tower is open with a decorative cornice and patterned stone. The center tower was capped when three workers fell to their deaths during construction. The interior has marble altars and Tiffany windows. Built on land donated by Peter Herdic, the local Irish community used Ralston Quarry sandstone to build this structure.
Christ Community Worship Center • 436 West Fourth Street, Williamsport,PA
Originally Church of the Covenant and more recently St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, this limestone structure has a center spire, bell tower and steeply pitched roof with stone finials. The windows are pointed and arched. It has the largest expanse of Tiffany stained glass in North Central PA.
First Baptist Church • 380 West Fourth Street, Williamsport PA
Dedicated September 27, 1914, this historic downtown church was been served by 21 pastors and six interim pastors in three different buildings all built on the same corner of ground provided by Peter Herdic. Peter’s wife was a member of the congregation. The present church is known for its beautiful sanctuary and 39 unique stained glass windows.
Rowley House Museum • 707 W. Fourth Street, Williamsport PA
Built 1888, Eber Culver architect. Preservation Williamsport owners. Newspapers and books noted this house on one of the most architecturally important Queen Anne Victorian homes in Pennsylvania . Nothing was spared by Multimillionaire, Edwin A Rowley when he built this imposing structure in 1888. The mansion has just been painted in delightful colors of the era. The carved wood gable, protruding corner bay, projecting dormer and massive turned porch posts provide striking examples of the Queen Anne style. The roof has patterned slate, metal ridge caps, tall, decorative chimneys and large overhanging eaves. The brick has tile insets. Note the delicate wrought iron fence.
Durrwachter House Women’s Museum • 901 W. Fourth Street, Williamsport PA
Late Victorian Queen Ann, completely custom designed with colonial revival influence. The outside of the house is original and boasts many stylistic features not found in the typical pattern book of the time. The house is now a women’s museum of the 1800’s Designed in 1890 by Amos Wagner and built for Henry Johnson, a state legislator from Muncy. Johnson moved to the city to help his six daughters find suitable husbands among the wealthy men of Williamsport. This home represents the Queen Anne style of architecture. The Johnson’s were so please with Wagner’s work they had him build a similar home next door on Maynard Street for one of their daughters!
Trinity Episcopal Church • 844 W. Fourth Street, Williamsport PA
Built 1875, Webber, Culver and Thorn architects. Built with stone from the Bald Eagle Mountain at Muncy and brownstone from Chummiest it has the first nine bell Westminster chimes in America and a mural by Wetly Little. The church was paid for by Peter Herdic and given to Trinity Parish for one dollar as long as the pews remain “forever free”. Note the pointed arches and windows, steeply pitched colored slate roof and 265-foot spire.